UA, Ouachita Baptist Teams Are Big Winners of 2020 Arkansas Governor’s Cup

We were unable to send the article.

Winners of the 2020 Arkansas Governor’s Cup Collegiate Business Plan competition were announced Thursday afternoon at a virtual awards program.

CelluDot, representing the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, was the overall graduate division winner and winner of the graduate Innovate Arkansas Innovation Division award.

The company has developed a novel biopolymer technology that keeps pesticides and herbicides at the site of their intended use. CelluDot netted a total of $30,000.

Immunosense, from Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, also won $30,000. It was the overall undergraduate division winner and earned the undergraduate Winrock Automotive Innovation Division award.

Immunosense is a diagnostics company that specializes in the early detection of Type 1 Diabetes via noninvasive testing.

The other winners were:

Walton Family Foundation Graduate Division

  • T.I.B.N., UA (second place and $15,000); and
  • Face-to-Face, University of Arkansas at Little Rock (third place and $10,000).

Simmons Bank Undergraduate Division

  • BioPrecision, Harding University in Searcy (second place and $15,000); and
  • Never Cargo, Arkansas Tech University in Russellville (third place and $10,000).

In addition to the overall team awards, faculty advisors for each team won $2,000.

Thirty-eight teams, consisting of 92 students from nine universities across Arkansas, entered the 2020 Governor’s Cup.

The title sponsor of the 2020 Governor’s Cup is Dhu Thompson with Revolution of Little Rock. The Governor’s Cup is presented by Arkansas Capital Corp. of Little Rock. Major sponsors include the Walton Family Foundation, Simmons Bank, Innovate Arkansas and Winrock Automotive.