Over 3,200 coronavirus cases in Arkansas

LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas — As of Wednesday, April 29, the Arkansas Department of Health has confirmed a total of 3,207 positive cases. 

In Tuesday’s press conference, Gov. Hutchinson announced on Friday, May 1, camping for in-state resident RVs will open. On May 15, Arkansas is expected to open restaurants, marinas, and more at state parks.  

Gov. Hutchinson announced Arkansas will open restaurants for limited dine in services on May 11 at 33% occupancy for phase one.

Key facts to know:

  • 3,207 confirmed positive cases of COVID-19 in Arkansas 
  • 46,505 total tests
  • 43,298 negative test results
  • 59 reported deaths
  • 1,279 recoveries
  • All Arkansas schools are closed for the remainder of the school year

Watch Wednesday’s press conference here: 

Wednesday, April 29

7:30 p.m.

The Arkansas Department of Health updated state-wide COVID-19 cases, confirming a total of 3,207 positive cases, which is a 15 case increase since the afternoon press briefing.

1:40 p.m.

Arkansas Health Secretary Dr. Nate Smith breaks down the 3,192 total COVID-19 cases: 

  • 1884 active cases
  • 93 hospitalizations
  • 18 on ventilators 
  • 1249 recoveries
  • 340 healthcare workers
  • 219 nursing home residents
    • 128 staff 

1:30 p.m.

In a press conference, Gov. Hutchinson confirmed a total of 3,192 positive cases. The total number of deaths increased to 59.

Gov. Hutchinson announced Arkansas will open restaurants for limited dine in services on May 11 at 33% occupancy for phase one.

Phase one

Phase one


The governor also announced “Arkansas Ready for Business” $15 million grant program. It will assist companies in the re-start phase and the money will help with PPE, hand sanitizing stations, etc. The grant allows for $1,000 per full time employee and up to $100,000 per company. 

Application forms will be on ArkansasEDC.com later today for the “Arkansas Ready for Business” program. It is open for all businesses, even beyond restaurants.

11 a.m.

In a press conference, Mayor Frank Scott said the City plans to work on testing minority communities. 

He also announced small businesses, including sole proprietorships, corporations, or limited liability corporations, that have been negatively impacted by COVID-19 may apply for a forgivable loan up to $5,000 at zero interest. There are no payments during the first year. If jobs are retained, created, or restored and still exist after one year, the loan is forgiven upon verification.

The City of Little Rock will partner with Kroger and Edwards Food Giant to provide reusable masks to disadvantaged communities. Beginning Friday, May 8, residents will be able to pick up a mask and instructions on proper use, while supplies last, at the following Kroger locations:

  • 6420 Colonel Glenn Rd.
  • 8824 Geyer Springs Rd.
  • 1100 E. Roosevelt Rd.

Masks will be available at the follow Edwards stores:

  • 1701 Main Street
  • 7525 Baseline Rd.

Watch City of Little Rock’s press conference here:

10 a.m.

The Arkansas Department of Health has confirmed a total of 3,137 positive cases.

Watch Tuesday’s press conference here:

The following counties have at least one confirmed case of COVID-19:

  • Arkansas County
  • Ashley County
  • Baxter County
  • Benton County
  • Boone County
  • Bradley County
  • Carroll County
  • Chicot County
  • Clark County
  • Clay County
  • Cleburne County
  • Cleveland County
  • Columbia County
  • Conway County 
  • Craighead County
  • Crawford County
  • Crittenden County
  • Cross County
  • Dallas County
  • Desha County
  • Drew County
  • Faulkner County
  • Franklin County
  • Garland County
  • Grant County
  • Greene County
  • Hempstead County
  • Hot Spring County
  • Howard County
  • Independence County
  • Izard County
  • Jackson County 
  • Jefferson County
  • Johnson County
  • Lafayette County
  • Lawrence County
  • Lee County
  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • Lonoke County
  • Madison County
  • Miller County
  • Mississippi County
  • Monroe County
  • Montgomery County
  • Nevada County
  • Newton County
  • Ouachita County
  • Perry County
  • Phillips County
  • Pike County
  • Poinsett County
  • Polk County
  • Pope County
  • Prairie County
  • Pulaski County
  • Randolph County
  • Saline County
  • Scott County
  • Searcy County
  • Sebastian County
  • Sevier County
  • Sharp County
  • St. Francis County
  • Stone County
  • Union County
  • Van Buren County
  • Washington County
  • White County
  • Woodruff County
  • Yell County

RELATED: Coronavirus death total rises to 57 in Arkansas

RELATED: Arkansas girl pens letter to newspaper condemning ‘people who aren’t taking this virus seriously’

We will continue to update this article with new information as it becomes available.