President Trump approves disaster funding for Arkansas regarding April 12 storms

The request was approved for the 11 counties that suffered extensive damage during the severe storms on April 12.

ARKANSAS, USA — On July 10, President Trump approved Governor Asa Hutchinson’s request for disaster declaration over the severe storms that impacted 11 Arkansas counties on April 12.

The President ordered Federal assistance to supplement State and local recovery efforts to the areas impacted.

Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe weather in Arkansas, Bradley, Cleveland, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Jefferson, Lincoln, and Ouachita counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Pete Gaynor, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Roland Jackson as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.